Huskies earn WCHA Honors

The Michigan Tech Huskies deservedly brought home three WCHA top honors, and placed seven players to All-WCHA teams and 13 more to the All-Academic team.

Senior forward and co-captain Alex Petan earned WCHA Player of the Year for his 17 goals and 13 assists (16G, 13A in WCHA) to lead the league in goal scoring. Petan earned WCHA Offensive Player of the Week two times this season (Dec. 14th and Jan. 18th), was named WCHA Player of the Month for February and is a nominee for the Hobey Baker Award.  The Huskies are 11-1-2 this season when Alex Petan scores a goal.

Alex Petan (F, Sr - MTU) shooting on Alex Lyon (G, Jr - Yale) at the Desert Hockey Classic on 1-9-2016. Photo credit Ryan Johnson.

Alex Petan (F, Sr - MTU) shooting on Alex Lyon (G, Jr - Yale) at the Desert Hockey Classic on 1-9-2016. Photo credit Ryan Johnson.

Goaltender Jamie Phillips, a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, earned WCHA Outstanding Student Athlete of the Year. Phillips, a Winnipeg Jets draft pick, ranks second on the MTU all time wins list at 55, three below Bruce Horsch (1974-78).  The senior goaltender has three shutouts this season. Off the ice, Phillips boasts a 3.52 GPA in Exercise Science and plans to attend medical school following his graduation from MTU. Phillips is a nominee for the 2016 Mike Richter Award and a nominee for the Hobey Baker Award.

Michigan Tech alum and current head coach Mel Pearson was awarded the WCHA Coach of the Year. Pearson has now earned the award twice in his five-year tenure in Houghton. Pearson led the Huskies to a 72.4 win% overall through a stellar second half to the season, going 9-1-2 in league play since the beginning of calendar year 2016. Under the guidance of Pearson, the Huskies achieved another first-in-a-long-time accomplishment by bringing the MacNaughton Cup back to Houghton for the first time since 1975-76. Pearson ranks as the second most winning MTU coach all-time, at 93-76-20.

Alex Petan, Jamie Phillips and Sophomore Matt Roy were named to the WCHA First Team. Roy, a Los Angeles Kings draft pick, led the WCHA in defensemen scoring, with seven goals. The Huskies are 11-2-1 this season when Roy scores a point.

Senior Malcolm Gould and Juniors Tyler Heinonen and Shane Hanna were named to the WCHA Second Team. The Delano, Minn. native Heinonen was out for five games this season and was still top-10 in WCHA scoring (15G, 10A).

Jake Lucchini was named to the WCHA All-Rookie Team. Lucchini had a four point weekend against NMU last weekend (2G, 2A).

The following Huskies were named to the WCHA All-Academic Team:

  • Seniors: CJ Eick, Alex Petan and Jamie Philips
  • Juniors: Patrick Anderson, Brent Baltus, Shane Hanna, Chris Leibinger, Mike Neville, Reid Sturos, Cliff Watson and Matt Wintjes
  • Sophomores: Devin Kero and Dylan Steman